Skip to content

ANZSOG Alumni and former Board member recognised in 2024 Australia Day Honours

21 February 2024

News and media


Image of the Parliament of Australia

Twelve ANZSOG alumni have been recognised in this year’s Australia Day Honours for the quality of their work in the public sector, as well as the contributions they have made to the community over the course of their careers.

In addition, former ANZSOG Board member and current vice-chancellor of the University of Queensland, Professor Deborah Terry, has been made a Companion of the Order of Australia (AC) – one of only four awarded.

ANZSOG Dean and CEO Caron Beaton-Wells congratulated all those who received awards, saying that the Australia Day Honours recognised the often-overlooked work of public servants in developing and implementing policies that raised the quality of life of all Australians.

Three alumni were made members of the Order of Australia, and nine others were awarded Public Service Medals (PSMs) which recognise outstanding career service in a state or federal public service. Only 100 PSMs are awarded each year.

Several were recognised for their work in their jurisdictions response to COVID-19 in 2020 and 2021, a reminder of the vital work done by the public sector during the pandemic, in quickly developing and implementing programs to protect and support the community.

Dr Brett Sutton (Executive Fellows Program 2021) was made an Officer of the Order of Australia (AO) for his distinguished service to the people of Victoria through public health administration and governance, and to medicine. Dr Sutton served as Victoria’s Chief Health Officer from 2019-2023, as well as with the Victorian Departments of Health, and of Regional Australia, Local Government, Arts and Sport.

Her Honour Elizabeth Morris (Executive Fellows Program 2009) a local court judge in the Northern Territory, was made a Member of the Order of Australia (AM). She is a Northern Territory local court chief judge, and was commended for her significant service to the law in the Northern Territory and to the community.

Dominique Mecoy (Executive Master of Public Administration 2012) was awarded the  Medal of the Order of Australia (OAM) in the General Division for her service to business and the community. She is currently the Chief Executive of Leadership WA, a not-for profit leadership development organisation which seeks to build a better WA through courageous leadership.

Public Service Medals were awarded to:

Jacqueline Cross (Executive Fellows Program 2023) NSW Health. For outstanding public service to nursing and midwifery

Bree Bolst – (Towards Strategic Leadership 2016) COVID-19 Quarantine Victoria: For outstanding public service and leadership in response to COVID-19.

Dr Allison Crook (Executive Fellows Program 2017) Queensland Department of Agriculture and Fisheries: For outstanding public service during COVID-19 to animal welfare and the protection of biosecurity in Queensland.

Sophie Muller (Towards Strategic Leadership 2017/ Deputies Leadership Program 2023) Tasmania’s Department of Natural Resources and Environment: For outstanding public service and leadership in Tasmania’s COVID-19 pandemic response through the instrumental development of essential policies and documents.

Laura Pyszkowski (Towards Strategic Leadership 2020) Tasmanian Health Service: For outstanding public service through exceptional leadership and innovation to acute care and the community during the COVID-19 pandemic.

Kareena Arthy (Deputies Leadership Program 2019) ACT Treasury and Economic Development ACT: For outstanding public service to economic development and recovery during the COVID-19 pandemic.

Karen Doran (Executive Fellows Program 2005) Major Projects Canberra: For outstanding public service to community safety through leadership, policy advice and program administration.

Fiona Barbaro (Executive Master of Public Administration 2019) ACT Health: For outstanding public service to the ACT Government’s COVID-19 vaccination program.

Jo Wood (Executive Fellows Program 2012) ACT Community Services: For outstanding public service in supporting vulnerable Canberrans throughout the ACT’s COVID-19 response.