Skip to content

ANZSOG alumni named in Top 50 Public Sector Women 

23 August 2018

News and media


Lynn Glover

FIFTEEN ANZSOG alumni have had their public service recognised in this year’s Top 50 Public Sector Women lists. 

The lists, produced by IPAA Victoria and the NSW Government in partnership with recruitment agency Davidson, shine a light on high-performing women in the public sector who are providing exceptional service to the community. 

The inaugural Victorian list was created in 2017, and this year, New South Wales was recognised for the first time. 

Elizabeth Koff, Secretary of NSW Health and Lead Judge for this year’s NSW top 50 list said the initiative was an important step towards encouraging and promoting women to strive for and be successful at senior positions within the public sector.

“The Top 50 provides an opportunity to acknowledge exceptional female leaders in the public sector…and shine a light on these leaders as role models for all women in the sector.”

ANZSOG Victorian alumni

Anna Burgess, the Director, Cancer, Specialty Programs, Medical Research and International Health (CMR) at Department of Health and Human Services (VIC) was named for her work across “a range of portfolios including cancer service delivery, cancer research, organ donation and transplantation, genomics and new health technology, medical research grants and infrastructure support for independent medical research institutes.”

Anna, who completed the Executive Fellows Program (EFP) in 2009, has worked across multiple policy roles since joining the Department of Health and Human Services, and project director roles, including Project Director for the Bendigo Hospital Redevelopment and Project Director for the Victorian Comprehensive Cancer Centre. 

Keryn Negri, the Chief Executive Officer at Victorian Civil and Administrative Tribunal (VCAT) was recognised as “an effective leader and highly respected for her compassion and ability to build strong relationships and networks across government and community groups.”

Another EFP graduate, Keryn has worked across aged care, employment, indigenous affairs, consumer affairs and dispute resolution to improve social policy outcomes in these areas. 

Lynn Glover, a 2004 EFP graduate, was listed for her work as the Chief Executive Officer of the Victorian Registration and Qualifications Authority (VRQA). Lynn oversaw the recent implementation of Child Safe Standards in over 2,500 education providers including schools, registered training organisations, and exchange organisations.

Susan Middleditch, Executive Director, Corporate Services Division, Department of Premier and Cabinet (VIC) and Lynn’s fellow EFP 2004 cohort participant, was named for her work leading “the delivery of corporate services to the department and 18 other government entities”.

Brigid Monagle, a recent EFP graduate (2017) and Executive Director at Department of Premier and Cabinet (VIC) was recognised for “leading advice in the areas of Aboriginal Affairs Policy, including Treaty and self-determination, health policy and reform and inter-governmental strategy.”

Katherine Whetton, Deputy Secretary at the National Education Reform Project, Department of Education and Training (VIC) and 2008 EMPA graduate was listed for overseeing the Project’s “integrated approach to strategy, governance, planning and performance, enabling the Department to make evidence-informed decisions that improve outcomes for all Victorians.”


Janet Schorer, the NSW Children’s Guardian was recognised for her “career-long commitment to child health and wellbeing”. 

Having worked as manager of Families NSW, Janet led the establishment of integrated child and family centres with nine Aboriginal communities and led the expansion of the Staying Home Leaving Violence program across NSW.

Janet completed the Executive Master of Public Administration in 2009. 

Rosemary Hegner Director, Health Emergency Management Unit at NSW Ambulance, and 2006 EMPA graduate, was listed for her “reputation for strategic thinking with a tenacity for quality results achieved through influential leadership, honesty and professionalism.”

Rosemary has also had numerous roles across the public sector prior to joining NSW Ambulance, including Paramedic, Intensive Care Paramedic, Registered Nurse, Work Force Planning Coordinator, Manager, Clinical Education with NSW Health, Manager Redesign with NSW Health, Principal Project Officer, Centre for Healthcare Redesign, Acting Director Counter Disaster Unit, Director Health Emergency Management Unit, Acting Executive Director Health Emergency and Aeromedical Services, NSW Ambulance.

Anne Campbell, EMPA 2004 graduate and Executive Director, Service Delivery Programs, Department of Family and Community Services (NSW) was named for leading the NSW Future Directions strategy for Social Housing.

Dr Liz Develin, Deputy Secretary, Energy, Water and Portfolio Strategy at the Department of Planning and Environment (NSW) and 2017 China Reciprocal Program (CRP) participant, was recognised for her “extensive experience in program delivery, capital planning, program evaluation, communications and strategic planning.”

Alison Frame, 2015 CRP participant and Deputy Secretary, Policy and Communications, also at the Department of Planning and Environment (NSW) was listed for her senior executive experience in the public sector – not only at Planning and Environment, but within in Medicare Australia, the Commonwealth Department of Families and Community Services and the Department of Human Services.

Kate Lorimer-Ward, EMPA 2013 graduate and Deputy Director General, Agriculture at Department of Industry was recognised for her “personal focus and desire to service the rural, regional and remote communities within NSW, through creative leadership, innovative program creation, design and implementation.”

Sonja Stewart, Deputy Secretary, Operations and Engagement, Department of Premier and Cabinet (NSW) and EFP 2005 graduate, was listed for her “extensive experience across State and Commonwealth governments, including family and community services, the Aboriginal & Torres Strait Islander Commission and Australian Trade Commission.”

Dianna Watkins EFP 2015 graduate and Group Director, Policy, Legislation, Performance and Consultation, Department of Industry was recognised for being a “thoughtful leader with exceptional issues management and problem solving skills and one who delivers key organisational outcomes with quality customer service.”

Caroline Reed, a 2015 Towards Strategic Leadership Graduate and Executive Director (job-share), NDIS Reform Group at the NSW Department of Premier and Cabinet, was recognised for her work supporting the successful implementation of the NDIS in NSW.

Read more about ANZSOG alumni

View the full public sector top 50 women lists here: