Skip to content

Governance of the National Regulators Community of Practice

The NRCoP is a unified national structure with chapters in New South Wales, Queensland, Victoria, Western Australia and shortly in South Australia. The NRCoP also welcomes virtual attendance by New Zealand regulators through its partnership with G-Reg, the New Zealand Government Regulatory Practice Initiative.

As the NRCoP’s auspice, ANZSOG is advised by a national committee and chapter committees, which include regulators from the Australian, state/territory and local governments. The national committee also includes two representatives from G-Reg.

In March 2021 the national committee restructured to reflect its increasing maturity as a national and trans-Tasman community. It now comprises:

Chair, NRCoP

Deputy Secretary
Commissioner for NSW Fair Trading
Better Regulation Division
Department of Customer Service
New South Wales

From the NSW chapter

Executive Branch Manager Licensing and Registrations,

Access Canberra

From the WA chapter


Chris Mather

Director Waterways Safety Management, Department of Transport

From the Queensland chapter

From the Victorian chapter

From the new SA chapter

SA chapter convenor

Executive Director, SafeWork SA

Pracademic advisor

Pracademic Advisor, NRCoP

Managing Director, RECAP Consultants

Representatives from G-Reg in New Zealand

Co-opted members

A/Executive Director, Regulatory Policy and Permissioning, Environment Protection Authority



Adam Watson

Head of Operations & Emergency Management, WorkSafe Victoria

ANZSOG support staff



  • Rose Webb, Deputy Secretary Better Regulation Division and Commissioner for Fair Trading, Department of Customer Service (chapter sponsor)
  • Roxane Marcelle-Shaw, CEO, Professional Standards Authority (chapter convenor)
  • Matt Barrett, Director Performance and Compliance Reviews, State Insurance Regulatory Agency
  • Derise Cubin, ACT Commissioner for Fair Trading
  • Peter Dunphy, Head of Transport Safety, Transport for New South Wales
  • Jane Eldridge, NSW State Director, Australian Health Professional Regulation Authority
  • Merrin Hambley, A/Director Platforms Branch, Australian Competition and Consumer Commission
  • Dr Maggie Hardy, Chief Regulatory Scientist, Australian Pesticides and Veterinary Medicine Authority
  • Tony Kofkin, A/Director Complaints Operations, NSW Health Care Complaints Commission
  • Tracy Mackey, CEO, Environment Protection Authority
  • Janet Schorer, NSW Childrens Guardian
  • Dr Chris Walker, Deputy Dean University Relations ANZSOG
  • Jackie Walsh, Manager People and Development, Australian Securities and Investment Commission
  • Scott Wheeler, Director Regulatory Improvement Branch, NSW Treasury

  • David Mackie, Director-General Department of Justice and Attorney-General (chapter sponsor)
  • Jarrod Cowley-Grimmond, Executive Director Divisional Support, Department of Regional Development, Manufacturing and Water
  • Omar Ameer, Director Compliance and Enforcement (Financial), Queensland Building and Construction Commission
  • Brian Bauer, Executive Director, Office of Liquor, Gaming and Fair Trading, Department of Justice and Attorney-General
  • Rose Bovey, Manager, Public Health Regulatory Systems Unit, Queensland Health
  • Mary Doolan, Director Compliance Community of Practice, Australian Financial Security Authority
  • Philip Halton, Branch Head Operations- North Central West Region, NDIS Quality and Safeguards Commission
  • Jennifer Kenny, Director, Industry Accreditation and Authorisation, Department of Transport and Main Roads
  • Anne Lenz, Manager Compliance and Regulatory Services, Brisbane City Counci
  • Erica McLuckie, Director Assessment and Quality Improvement, Department of Education
  • Rowena Park, General Manager – Compliance & Enforcement Organisation: Australian Energy Regulator
  • Rachel Scalongne, A/Regional Director, South Region Water Division, Department of Regional Development, Manufacturing and Water
  • Mark Stone, CEO, Resource Safety and Health Queensland
  • Victoria Thomson, Deputy Director-General, Liquor, Gaming and Fair Trading, Department of Justice and Attorney-General

  • Chris Ingham, Deputy CEO, Victorian Registration and Qualifications Authority (chapter convenor)
  • Simon Corden, Commissioner Essential Services Commission (chapter sponsor)
  • Ashley Bunce, Director Regulatory Operations, Office of the Conservation Regulator, Department of Environment, Land, Water and Planning
  • Adam Beaumont, Director, With Purpose Consulting
  • Matt d’Abbs, Director Regulatory Approach and Capability, Environment Protection Authority
  • Kate Maddern, Director, Victorian Disability Worker Commission
  • Cassandra Meagher, Executive Director Service Victoria, Department of Premier and Cabinet
  • Baethan Mullen, General Manager Economic Group, Australian Competition and Consumer Commission
  • Marianne Munro, Director Policy, Governance and Regulation, Waste and Recycling, Department of Environment, Land, Water and Planning
  • Antonia Parkes, Executive Director Advice, Support and Assistance, Fair Work Ombudsman
  • Emily Sanders, Director Regulation, Commission for Children and Young People
  • Adam Watson, Head of Operations & Emergency Management, WorkSafe Victoria
  • Penelope Winslade, Director Sustainable Communities, Hobsons Bay City Council.

  • Mike Rowe, Director-General, Department of Water and Environmental Regulation (chapter sponsor)
  • David MacLennan, CEO City of Vincent (interim chapter convenor)
  • Lyn Anderson, Community Housing Registrar, Department of Communities
  • Lanie Chopping, A/Executive Director Consumer Protection and Commissioner for Consumer Protection, Department of Mines, Industry Regulation and Safety
  • Benjamin Ford, Manager Better Regulation Unit, WA Treasury
  • Jenness Gardner, CEO, Economic Regulation Authority (chapter convenor on leave of absence)
  • Germaine Larcombe, Director Regulatory Capability, Department of Water and Environmental Regulation
  • Chris Mather, Director Waterways Safety Management, Department of Transport
  • Ian Munns, Deputy Director General Safety Regulation Group, Department of Mines, Industry Regulation and Safety
  • Nicola Perry, Director Liquor and Gambling, Department of Local Government, Sport and Cultural Industries
  • Alice Turnbull, Strategic Compliance Manager, National Offshore Petroleum Safety and Environmental Management Authority
  • Neil Sarti, Manager Biosecurity and Investigations, Department Primary Industries and Regional Development
  • Philip Wyles, Director Service Delivery Strategy, Department of Training and Workforce Development

  • Caroline Mealor, Chief Executive, Attorney-General’s Department (chapter sponsor)
  • Martyn Campbell, Executive Director, SafeWork (chapter convenor)

Join the community of practoce