Skip to content

Cheryl Leavy and Janet Schorer appointed Alumni Council co-Chairs

11 March 2021

News and media


a female illustration holding a book


ANZSOG’s Alumni Advisory Council has appointed two new co-Chairs – Janet Schorer (NSW) and Cheryl Leavy (Qld) – who will replace outgoing Chair Simon Kent and bring their skills and enthusiasm to the goal of building a stronger alumni community.

Ms Leavy, Cultural Agency Leader, Executive Director Partnerships, at the Queensland Department of Environment and Science, and Executive Fellows Program alum, said she wanted to help ANZSOG prepare other public sector leaders to deliver public value and for the opportunities and challenges they would need to grapple with.

“The ANZSOG experience supported me in focusing on contemporary public service leadership skills and approaches that are applicable in any role,” she said.

Ms Schorer is the NSW Children’s Guardian and was awarded a Public Service Medal in 2019 for her contributions to the public service, and in particular the wellbeing and dignity of the most vulnerable members of the community. She is also a National Fellow of the Institute of Public Administration and a committee member for the NSW chapter of ANZSOG’s National Regulators Community of Practice.

Established in 2018 to represent ANZSOG’s 3,600-strong alumni, the Council provides alumni with direct involvement in ANZSOG’s activities and the chance to inform the organisation’s strategic direction. It has provided valuable advice and feedback which has helped shape ANZSOG’s response to the COVID-19 pandemic.

In addition to the co-Chair appointments, Jacqui Allen has joined the council as the Tasmanian representative, replacing Ginna Webster who has decided to step down after her first two-year term. Ms Allen is a graduate of the EMPA and EFP programs who is currently Deputy Secretary, Cultural and Tourism Industry Development in the Department of State Growth in Tasmania. Ms Allen was part of the Tasmanian Government’s response to COVID-19 through the rapid rollout of a Tourism Voucher Scheme

The Northern Territory will be represented by Shane Dexter – General Manager, Quality School Systems and Support, Department of Education, who will replace Alastair Shields. Mr Dexter has over 12 years’ experience in the Northern Territory Public Service, both within the Department of Education and Department of the Chief Minister. He is a recipient of the Chief Minister’s Award for Excellence in the Public Sector 2020 and also received the Australian Council for Educational Leaders (ACEL) NT Leadership Award 2020.

Follow @ANZSOG