Skip to content

Eleven Australia and New Zealand ANZSOG alumni recognised in King’s Birthday Honours

24 June 2024

News and media


Eleven ANZSOG alumni have been recognised in this year’s King’s Birthday Honours lists in Australia and Aotearoa New Zealand for their careers of service to the public sector and community. 

ANZSOG Dean and CEO Professor Caron Beaton-Wells congratulated all those who received awards, saying she took great pleasure in seeing the work of ANZSOG alumni recognised. 

“The demands on the public sector are increasing and the last few years, in particular through the COVID pandemic, have been incredibly challenging for all public servants. The essential work of the public sector is too often under-recognised, so it’s gratifying to see these impressive careers and contributions receive the credit they deserve,” she said. 

that the King’s Birthday Honours recognised the often-overlooked work of public servants in developing and implementing policies that raised the quality of life of  

Professor John Skerritt (Executive Fellows Program 2004 and Deputies Leadership Program 2018) was made a Member of the Order of Australia (AM) for his significant service to public health administration and governance, and to scientific research.  

Professor Skerritt’s last public sector role was as Deputy Secretary Health Products Regulation Group, a role which saw him become the public face of the Therapeutic Goods Administration, and which he left in April 2023. His achievements include implementing the Medicines and Medical Devices Review, digital transformation, the regulation of medicinal cannabis, the rapid registration of COVID vaccines and treatments and playing a leading role in international harmonisation of regulation.        

Two of ANZSOG’s New Zealand Alumni were made Companions of the NZ Order of Merit: 

Air Marshal Kevin Short (Executive Fellows Program 2012) for his service to the New Zealand Defence Force. 

Karen Bartlett (Executive Master of Public Administration 2012) for her services to the community and social services. 

Seven Australian Public Service Medals (PSMs) were awarded to ANZSOG alumni for their careers of exceptional service. Only 100 are awarded each year, and with ANZSOG alumni being awarded nine PSMs in the Australia Day Honours, almost one-in-six winners of the 2024 PSMs are our alumni. 

The King’s Birthday winners were:  

Michelle Lees (Executive Master of Public Administration 2013) Commonwealth for her outstanding public service in the delivery of support and payments to Australian citizens in times of national emergencies and other critical events. 

Fiona Macdonald (Executive Master of Public Administration 2016) Commonwealth for outstanding public service in customer service, policy and program design and service delivery.  

Tish Bruce (Executive Fellows Program 2018), NSW for outstanding public service to NSW community health care.  

Louise Galloway (Towards Strategic Leadership 2017) Victoria for outstanding public service to primary and community health policy development in Victoria. 

Ryan Phillips (Towards Strategic Leadership 2012), Victoria for outstanding public service in fostering a safe and equitable justice system. 

Shaun Ferris (Executive Fellows Program 2019) Queensland for outstanding public service in leading the Queensland resources industry response to COVID-19.  

Marion Hailes-MacDonald (Executive Master of Public Administration), Western Australia, for outstanding public service through leadership in the development and improvement of services and supports for people with disability, their families and carers.  

In addition, Louise Lane (Towards Strategic Leadership 2023), New South Wales, was awarded an Australian Corrections Medal.