Skip to content

Ian Chubb

Former Chief Scientist

Faculty: Expert contributors


Ian Chubb headshot

Missing or inaccurate information?

Directory update request

Ian Chubb was Chief Scientist for Australia from May 2011 to January 2016.

Between 1993 and 2010 he was Vice-Chancellor of The Australian National University for ten years, Vice-Chancellor of Flinders University of South Australia for six and Senior Deputy Vice-Chancellor of Monash University for two years.

He was Chair of the Commonwealth’s Higher Education Council and Deputy Chair of the National Board of Employment, Education and Training from 1990 to 1995.

Professor Chubb had been the Deputy Vice-Chancellor of the University of Wollongong and Honorary Professor of Biology, and in the School of Medicine of Flinders University. Before that, he was at Oxford University: as a Wellcome Foundation Scholar (Christ Church), a Junior Research Fellow of St John’s College, and a Royal Society Research Fellow. He was a JF & C Heymans Research Fellow at the University of Ghent, Belgium.

Professor Chubb was President of the Australian Vice-Chancellors’ Committee (AVCC), Chair of the Group of Eight and of the International Alliance of Research Universities. He was a member of the Prime Minister’s Science, Engineering and Innovation Council, later the Commonwealth Science Council, and a member of the Board of ANZSOG.

Professor Chubb was the ACT’s Australian of the Year in 2011. He has six honorary doctorates from Australian Universities, is a Fellow of the Australian College of Educators, a Fellow of the Academy of Technological Sciences and Engineering, a Fellow of the Royal Society of New Southand Fellow of the Australian Academy of Science. He is a companion in the Order of Australia.