Skip to content

Te Hāpai Hāpori /Spirit of Service Award nominees announced

20 July 2021

News and media


Te Hāpai Hāpori /Spirit of Service Award banner

Image: Te Kawa Mataaho Public Service Commission


Finalists for Aotearoa-New Zealand’s 2021 Te Hāpai Hāpori /Spirit of Service Awards have been announced by the Te Kawa Mataaho/Public Sector Commission, recognising outstanding achievers in public sector governance, and great outcomes for the broader community.

ANZSOG is delighted to be one of the sponsors of the Awards for 2021 which celebrate some of the outstanding work of the New Zealand public service during a year marked by its successful response to the COVID-19 pandemic.

The awards are a great opportunity to recognise the many people in the public service who deliver public value and improve the lives of the Aotearoa-New Zealand community.

The five award categories are:

Te Tohu mō ngā Hua E Pai Ake Ana | Better Outcomes Award
Te Tohu mō te Ratonga Whakahirahira | Service Excellence Award
Te Tohu mō te Tūhonotanga a Ngāi Māori me te Karauna | Māori Crown Relationships Award
Te Tohu mō te Kaiārahi Mahi Whakahaere | Leadership in Governance Award
Te Tohu mō te Kaiārahi Rangatahi o te Tau | Young Leader of the Year Award

Te Tohu a te Pirimia/ The Prime Minister’s Award is selected from the winners of the first four categories and the Lifetime Achievement Award honours an individual who has made an exceptional contribution to their community and who exemplifies a spirit of service.

Finalists for 2021 include Manatū Hauora/Ministry of Health for their work in leading the response to COVID-19, the Te Kaitiaki Take Kōwhiri/Electoral Commission for their work in allowing 2.9 million New Zealanders to vote safely, as well as programs around restorative justice to reduce reoffending and improve wellbeing. For a full list of nominees click here.

The 21 finalists come from a total of 82 entries, and Public Sector Commission Deputy Commissioner Catherine Williams said that the breadth of entries was impressive and diverse.

“Entries ranged from small business COVID-19 recovery initiatives to innovative ways of learning, from transformational workforce strategies to collaborative regional governance approaches for employment and from the arts sector to the justice sector,” Ms Williams said.

“Without exception, the young leader entries are impressive and describe public servants who bring their dedication and professionalism not only to their workplace, but also to their communities,” she said.

Last year’s recipients of Te Tohu a te Pirimia/Prime Minister’s Award were Waka Kotahi NZ Transport Agency, KiwiRail, the North Canterbury Transport Infrastructure Recovery Alliance and Te Rūnanga o Kaikōura, for their transparent and innovative approach to governance of the hugely complex and challenging work to rebuild and improve Kaikōura’s transport networks devastated by the 7.8 magnitude earthquake in 2016. For further information on the 2020 winners click here.

Judging of the awards will begin on 26 July, and winners will be announced on 16 September.

Follow @ANZSOG