Skip to content

King’s Birthday Honours recognise ANZSOG alumni

27 June 2023

News and media


Australian flag

In recognition of their contribution to the community and commitment to public value, six alumni from The Australia and New Zealand School of Government (ANZSOG) have been recognised in the 2023 Australian King’s Birthday Honours. 

ANZSOG Dean and CEO Adam Fennessy PSM said he was delighted that ANZSOG alumni had been recognised for their professionalism and dedication, and the awards underscored ANZSOG’s mission to lift the quality of public services in Australia and Aotearoa New Zealand. 

He congratulated all recipients for their work to serve their communities and deliver public value. 

“The demands on the public sector are increasing and the last few years have been incredibly challenging for all public servants. The essential work of the public sector too often goes unrecognised, so it’s gratifying to see so many public servants, including ANZSOG alumni receive the credit they deserve, both for their work during COVID-19 and their careers more broadly. 

Rosemary Huxtable, (China Reciprocal Program 2015), who served as Secretary of the Commonwealth Department of Finance from 2016-2022 was made an Officer of the Order of Australia (AO) for distinguished service to public administration through leadership roles in the areas of health and finance, and to strategic policy reform. 

In addition, five other ANZSOG alumni were awarded Public Service Medals, bringing to 12 the number of ANZSOG alumni awarded the medals in 2023, out of a total of 100. 

Michael James Shearer (Queensland Government – Executive Fellows Program 2011) for outstanding public service to youth, community and families in regional Queensland. 

Malcolm Letts (Queensland Government – Executive Fellows Program 2010) for outstanding public service to state and national biosecurity. 

Bernadette Ditchfield – (Queensland Government – Executive Master of Public Administration 2018) for outstanding public service during the COVID-19 pandemic for the protection and development of agribusiness in Queensland. 

Stacey Narelle Matthews (ACT Government – Towards Strategic Leadership 2020) for outstanding public service in supporting the ACT’s Whole of Government COVID-19 response. 

Dean Cowie (Victorian Government – Executive Master of Public Administration 2014) for outstanding public service in championing land justice for Aboriginal Traditional Owners.