Skip to content

University of Adelaide to become an ANZSOG member university

7 November 2021

News and media


Image of the University of Adelaide campus

The University of Adelaide will become an ANZSOG member university, in a partnership which will open up new possibilities for education, thought leadership and research programs developed with its new Stretton Institute.

ANZSOG Dean and CEO Professor Ken Smith AO said that he was delighted to confirm that the University of Adelaide would become ANZSOG’s 16th member university, and the first new university member for a decade.

“The development of the University’s Stretton Institute and the appointment of vice-Chancellor Peter Hoj in February this year, have created this opportunity for us to work with the University of Adelaide. I am sure it will be a fruitful partnership and I am pleased that we can add another ‘Group of Eight’ university to our network.”,” Professor Smith said.

“Professor Adam Graycar, the inaugural director of the Stretton Institute, is a widely-published and respected academic, who has also served in senior posts in the South Australian and Commonwealth governments. He has wide expertise across many areas of public policy and is a leading authority on public sector integrity and corruption,” Professor Smith said.

“He has also worked with ANZSOG extensively delivering a number of programs.

“The development of the Stretton Institute under his leadership opens up possibilities for ANZSOG to look at new ways of working with the University of Adelaide to develop education, contemporary thought leadership and research programs appropriate for South Australia and other public services across the network.”

The Stretton Institute was founded in 2020 to facilitate stronger links between government, industry and the University of Adelaide by bringing together researchers and experts to address key policy issues. It is named after Hugh Stretton, one of Australia’s leading public intellectual and social-democratic thinkers, who is renowned and respected widely for his writings on cities, housing, economics, history and the social sciences.

Professor Graycar welcomed the new partnership.

“Good and practical education in public administration is crucial for a post COVID world. The University of Adelaide will deliver quality in this field, and I am delighted that we will be able to do this in conjunction with ANZSOG,” he said.

The Australia and New Zealand School of Government (ANZSOG) was created in 2002 to provide education and research to lift the quality of public management in Australia. ANZSOG works closely with its owner governments and university partners to develop education and research programs that meet the current and future needs of governments and help them to deliver public value to the communities they serve.

ANZSOG now has 16 member universities:

Australian National University
Carnegie Mellon University, Australia
Charles Darwin University
Curtin University
Flinders University
Griffith University
Melbourne Business School
Monash University
University of Adelaide
University of Melbourne
University of New South Wales
University of Queensland
University of Sydney
University of Canberra
University of Tasmania
Victoria University of Wellington

Follow @ANZSOG