Skip to content

Spirit of Service award nominees for 2022

16 August 2022

News and media


Banner for the Spirit of Service awards 2022

The finalists for Aotearoa New Zealand’s 2022 Te Hāpai Hāpori /Spirit of Service Awards have been announced by the Te Kawa Mataaho/Public Service Commission, and recognise outstanding achievers in public sector governance, and great outcomes for the broader community of Aotearoa New Zealand. 

ANZSOG is delighted to be one of the sponsors of the Awards for 2022 which celebrate some of the outstanding work of the Aotearoa New Zealand public service during a year marked by the nation’s reopening to the world after the COVID-19 pandemic. 

The awards are a great opportunity to recognise the many people in the public service who deliver public value and improve the lives of the Aotearoa New Zealand community. Visit the Te Kawa Mataaho website for the full list of award nominees. 

The five award categories are: 

  • Te Tohu mō te Ratonga Whakahirahira | Service Excellence Award 
  • Te Tohu mō ngā Hua E Pai Ake Ana | Better Outcomes Award 
  • Te Tohu mō te Kaiārahi Mahi Whakahaere | Leadership in Governance Award 
  • Te Tohu mō te Tūhonotanga a Ngāi Māori me te Karauna | Māori Crown Relationships Award 
  • Te Tohu mō te Kaiārahi Rangatahi o te Tau | Young Leader of the Year Award 

In addition, the awards include the Te Tohu Oranga Angitū | Lifetime Achievement Award, honouring an individual chosen by the Public Service Commissioner who has made an exceptional contribution to Aotearoa New Zealand or their community and who exemplifies a spirit of service. 

The Te Tohu a te Pirimia | Prime Minister’s Award for the overall winner of the year is selected from the winners of the Better Outcomes Award, Service Excellence Award, Māori Crown Relationship Award and Leadership in Governance Award. 

The 2021 awards were dominated by the response to the COVID-19 pandemic, and this year has seen a more mixed group of nominees ranging across infrastructure strategy, national health initiatives, the settlement of refugee from Afghanistan, to the official recognition of Matariki as a public holiday. 

Last year’s Prime Minister’s Award was jointly presented to the Better Outcomes Award winners Manatū Hauora | Ministry of Health, and the agencies involved in Aotearoa New Zealand’s COVID-19 border response. 

Finalists have now been presented to the judging panel, and winners will be announced in Wellington on 15 September.