Skip to content

ANZSOG alumni recognised in 2020 Australia Day Honours

30 January 2020

News and media


Parliament house, Canberra

ANZSOG alumni and board members have been recognised for their contribution to the community and commitment to public value in the 2020 Australia Day Honours.

ANZSOG Dean and CEO Ken Smith said that the Australia Day Honours were a chance to recognise the contribution of people from across society and recognise the often-overlooked role played by public servants in developing and implementing policies that benefited all Australians.

“As in past years, our alumni have been recognised for the professionalism and dedication they have shown,” he said.

Professor Margaret Gardner, who is Monash University President and Vice-Chancellor, and a member of the ANZSOG Board has been appointed as a Companion of the Order of Australia (AC) for her services to tertiary education through leadership and innovation in teaching and learning, research and financial sustainability.

Ian Stewart (Executive Fellows Program 2006), was appointed as an Officer of the Order of Australia (AO), for distinguished service to law enforcement and the community as Commissioner of Police in Queensland.

Four other ANZSOG alumni received the Public Service Medal (PSM), which is awarded to 100 public servants each year, for outstanding service by Commonwealth, state, territory or local government public servants.

Helen McDevitt, Department of the Prime Minister and Cabinet, (Towards Strategic Leadership 2010 and Executive Fellows Program 2012) was awarded the medal for outstanding public service through social policy innovation to improve the lives of disadvantaged Australians, particularly young persons and people with a disability. Ms McDevitt has been key to the policy, design and implementation of the NDIS. She was critical to achieving the transitional and full scheme agreement between the Commonwealth and the states and territories, and has contributed to significant developments in health policy, as well as reforms to improve the lives of disadvantaged people.
Janine Toomey, Victorian Department of Health and Human Services, (Executive Fellows Program 2013), was recognised for outstanding public service to policy design and service delivery in Victoria. Ms Toomey has dedicated her career to supporting and facilitating self-determination for people with disability She has been instrumental in leading the co-design of individualised support approaches within Victoria, as well as the transition of services to the National Disability Insurance Scheme and the transfer of government services to community service providers.
Colin Cassidy, Queensland Department of State Development, (China Reciprocal Program 2014) received the PSM for outstanding public service to economic development, corporate services and town planning in Queensland. Mr Cassidy’s town planning career began in 1981. In local and state government roles, he has undertaken statutory land use planning functions, and led the development and implementation of the Sustainable Planning Act 2009 (QLD). In 2015, he drove the development and implementation of ten-year strategies to support the development of a number of priority industry sectors including advanced manufacturing, defence industries, aerospace, mining equipment, technology and services, and biomedical and bio-industrial technology.
David Fredericks, Secretary of the Department of Industry, Science, Energy and Resources, (China Reciprocal Program 2016), was recognised for his outstanding public service through supporting the Government in achieving fiscal and budget policy objectives, and significant reforms in the Commonwealth Attorney-General’s Department. He led a number of reforms during his service in the AGD, including reform of the National Partnership Agreement on Legal Services and important administrative reforms to the federal courts, Administrative Appeals Tribunal and Australian Government Solicitor.

Professor Smith said that the recognition of ANZSOG alumni demonstrated the positive impact of the public service was on the community.

“Australia is well served by its high-quality, independent public services. It is fitting that the Australia Day Honours recognise this by awarding people who have selflessly worked to benefit the community.”

Find out more about ANZSOG alumni at the ANZSOG website.